History of the faculty

Agricultural higher education in Debrecen started in 1868 with the foundation of the National Higher Economic School of Debrecen. This date marks the beginning of agricultural higher education in Debrecen and East Hungary. Between 1876 and 1906 the institute's official name was Secondary Economic School. Then it was run under the name Hungarian Royal Academy of Economy until 1944. Between 1944 and 1949 our institute went on with its work as the Debrecen Department of the Agricultural Sciences at the Hungarian Agricultural University. In 1953 tuition began again at the Agricultural Academy. Training of professionals reached University level between 1962 and 1970 at the Agricultural College. Between 1970 and 1999 the institute got its university title and as the Agricultural University of Debrecen it operated with two branch faculties (Szarvas, earlier Hódmezővásárhely, later Mezőtúr).

The University of Debrecen was established with 5 university-, three college faculties and three research institutes on 1st January, 2000. In 2002 the Faculty of Agriculture and Rural Development was established, and by 2006, the university had comprised 15 faculties.

Updated: 2017.07.02.